Apr 25 2008

Fraud Listing Of Atlanta.com For Sale On Sedo.com

Published by Steve at 11:08 am under General

When I saw that the elite geo domain, Atlanta.com was on auction at Sedo thru domaining.com, I knew it was a fraud listing.  I immediately notified Skip Hoagland, and he contacted Sedo.com customer support to resolve the issue.  Tom Fell from Sedo.com was outstanding with customer support and deleted the users account.  The person who listed Atlanta.com for sale is based in Spain and was attempting to defraud someone for alot of money.

This could have harmed business on Atlanta.com if it was not handled as fast as it was.  Tom Fell from Sedo.com did a fantastic job resolving this issue.  These days, you truly have to be aware of all the fraud on going in the domain industry.  If you own some elite domain names and are running a business from them, you may want to occassionally check to see if they are listed on auctions by con artists.  The negativity from such an event can damage credibility instantly among your advertisers if the auction actually closes.

It definitely does not show strength.  I would like to ask Domaining.com to please remove the link to Atlanta.com immediately.  The link is now dead.   

3 Responses to “Fraud Listing Of Atlanta.com For Sale On Sedo.com”

  1. Francoison 25 Apr 2008 at 11:41 am

    For the story:

    Few hours ago I checked names at auction at SEDO with the idea to select a nice one and advertise it through an affiliate link.

    I seen Atlanta.com, it was for sure the best of all the names in auction at SEDO so I decided to list it.

    That’s true that names of such caliber are no longer for sale.

    But well, I thought SEDO probably checked ownership before authorize such auction, plus the name already had several bids.

    Unfortunately Santa does not exist, it was a fake listing as you outline and as the email of the true owner I received confirms.

    Listing has been removed.

    Friendly

    ***SMO***

    Thanks Francois. Yeah Santa only comes around once in a big while. The best way to identify fraud is a low reserve. No one in their right mind would have a reserve of 1k for Atlanta.com. ;)

    Nice feature by the way that you have added to domaining.com.

  2. damiron 25 Apr 2008 at 22:36 pm

    What a post - criminals are trying to sell Atlanta.com on sedo.com

    What is going on in this world - quantity of a specie VS quality

  3. Domain Buzz: This Week in Domainingon 27 Apr 2008 at 17:00 pm

    […] SimplyGeo reports on the fraudulent listing of Atlanta.com on Sedo: “The person who listed Atlanta.com for sale is based in Spain and was attempting to defraud someone for alot of money.“ […]

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply